New members appointed to Missouri Tourism Commission

Two new members have been appointed to the Missouri Tourism Commission. Rep. Jeffery Justus and Rep. Richard Brown were selected by Missouri Speaker of the House Elijah Harr to serve on the commission.

Justus is from Branson and has represented the 156th
Legislative District since 2012. He is a small business owner. He is past president of the Downtown Branson Main Street Association, past president of the Branson Historic Community Improvement District and past chairman of Table Rock Lake Area Chamber of Commerce.

Brown is from Kansas City and has represented the 26th Legislative District since 2016. He was a public school teacher for 23 years. He is a member of the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity and the NAACP.

The 10-member Missouri Tourism Commission was created in 1967 by the Missouri General Assembly. The commission is comprised of five members appointed by the governor, the lieutenant governor, two senators appointed by the president pro-tem and two representatives appointed by the speaker of the house.

The commission is responsible for appointing the director of the Missouri Division of Tourism, recommending programs to increase tourism in the state and promoting the exchange of travel and tourism information among state and local agencies, chambers of commerce, convention and visitors bureaus, travel organizations, tourism-related businesses and individuals who work in the industry.