Lt. Gov. Mike Kehoe selected vice chairman of Missouri Tourism Commission

The Missouri Tourism Commission, meeting in Jefferson City this week, selected Lt. Gov. Mike Kehoe to serve as vice chairman of the commission.

“Lt. Gov. Kehoe has been a vital member of the tourism commission, and we look forward to the continued leadership he will provide as vice chairman,” said Scott Hovis, chair of the tourism commission.

The previous vice chairman, Jay Wasson, Nixa, recently resigned from the tourism commission following his appointment by Gov. Mike Parson to the Board of Governors for Missouri State University.

Kehoe has served on the tourism commission since becoming lieutenant governor in 2018. Prior to that, he was a member of the Missouri Senate, where he served as the majority floor leader.

The tourism commission is comprised of 10 members, including the lieutenant governor, two members of the Missouri Senate appointed by the president pro tem, two members of the Missouri House of Representatives appointed by speaker of the house, and five members appointed by the governor.

The Missouri Tourism Commission, created in 1967 by the Missouri General Assembly, is responsible for appointing the director of the Missouri Division of Tourism, recommending programs to increase tourism in the state and promoting the exchange of travel and tourism information among state and local agencies, chambers of commerce, convention and visitors bureaus, travel organizations, tourism-related businesses and individuals who work in the industry.


About the Missouri Division of Tourism

The Missouri Division of Tourism works to showcase Missouri experiences through compelling storytelling to inspire travel, support healthy communities and strengthen the state’s economy. In fiscal year 2019, Missouri welcomed 42.9 million visitors and saw $17.7 billion in tourism-related spending.