News and Press
Missouri Division of Tourism

Chairman, vice chairman selected for Missouri Tourism Commission

The Missouri Tourism Commission, meeting in Jefferson City this week, elected Scott Hovis, Jefferson City, to serve as chairman and Jay Wasson, Nixa, to serve as vice chairman for the coming year.

Wasson is one of two new members appointed to the commission in November by Gov. Mike Parson. Kurt Witzel, St. Louis, was also named to the commission.

Wasson is a former member of the Missouri Senate and House of Representatives. Prior to his time in the state legislature, he served as mayor of Nixa. He is a real estate developer and a member of the Nixa Area Chamber of Commerce.

Witzel recently retired from Anheuser Busch/InBev after working in sales and marketing for 36 years. He is vice chair of the Missouri Mansion Preservation Board of Directors and is a member of the Missouri Athletic Club.

The Missouri Tourism Commission is responsible for appointing the director of the Missouri Division of Tourism, recommending programs to increase tourism in the state and promoting the exchange of travel and tourism information among state and local agencies, chambers of commerce, convention and visitors bureaus, travel organizations, tourism-related businesses and individuals who work in the industry.

The commission, created in 1967 by the Missouri General Assembly, is comprised of 10 members. Five members are appointed by the governor. The additional five members include the lieutenant governor, two senators appointed by the president pro-tem and two representatives appointed by the speaker of the house.


Posted On: December 7, 2018